Video and Audio Library

Let’s not miss the One who is always drawing near

Series: Sermons

Sarah Stewart
September 19, 2021

“What are we waiting for?” might feel like a foolish question just now, as Covid confusion and consternation, not to mention human contentiousness, continue to disrupt the flow of grace within the communal body. While our Scriptures today might feel a bit spicy, whether it’s Jesus taking on competitive disciples or James calling selfish Christians out, I assure you the Bible is not here to shame or guilt us. But Love is scrambling to get our attention, daring us to turn toward the Holy One who has come near with mastery and wisdom we need to artfully, gracefully, and faithfully face the future. Resisting what bedevils us and submitting to God is strenuous. Not to do so is a sin. Even distracted and discontented disciples, in the end, must answer love’s call to die to self and rise to new life in Christ cutting through our fear and fatigue. And none of us knows exactly how much time we will have to make this earthly journey with Jesus and one another.

Other media in the series

Identity

Sermon by the Rev. Karen Evans for Sunday, May 15, 2022

Easter Sunday Sermon

Sermon by the Rev. Dr. Simon J. Mainwaring for Easter Sunday, April 17, 2022.

A New Commandment

Sermon by the Rev. Dr. Andrew K. Barnett for Maundy Thursday, April 14, 2022.

Holy Loitering

Sermon by the Rev. Dr. Simon J. Mainwaring for Ash Wednesday, March 2, 2022.

A Revolution of Power

Sermon by the Rev. Dr. Simon J. Mainwaring for Sunday, February 27, 2022.

A Deeper Happiness

Sermon by the Rev. Dr. Simon J. Mainwaring for February 13, 2022.

Love Never Fails

Sermon by the Rev. Dr. Andrew K. Barnett for the 11:15 a.m. service on Sunday, January...

By Another Road

Sermon by the Rev. Dr. Simon J. Mainwaring for Sunday, January 2, 2022.

A Bigger Story

Sermon by the Rev. Dr. Simon J. Mainwaring for Christmas Eve, December 24, 2021.

The In-Between Times

Sermon by the Rev. Dr. Andrew K. Barnett for Sunday, December 19, 2021.

The Bridge

Sermon by the Rev. Dr. Simon J. Mainwaring for Sunday, December 12, 2021.

Generation to Generation

Sermon by the Rev. Zachary C. Nyein on his last Sunday at All Saints', December 5, 2021.

We Are On Trial

Sermon by the Rev. Natosha Reid Rice for Sunday, November 21, 2021.

The Pilgrim House

Sermon by the Rev. Dr. Simon J. Mainwaring for Sunday, November 14, 2021.

Called to Be Saints

Sermon by the Rev. Dr. Simon J. Mainwaring for All Saints' Sunday, November 7, 2021.

Requiem

Sermon by the Rev. Dr. Andrew K. Barnett for the All Souls Requiem service on...

God is Calling

Sermon by the Rev. Natosha Reid Rice for Sunday, October 24, 2021.

We Are All Priests

Sermon by the Rev. Zachary C. Nyein for Sunday, October 17, 2021.

People of the Question

Sermon by the Rev. Dr. Simon J. Mainwaring for Sunday, October 10, 2021.

The Advance Team

Sermon by the Rev. Natosha Reid Rice for the Festival of Song on Sunday, October 3, 2021.

October 3, 2021

Sermon by the Rev. Karen Evans for Sunday, October 3, 2021.

Risky Questions

Sermon by the Rev. Zachary C. Nyein for Sunday, August 29, 2021.

August 8, 2021

Sermon by the Rev. Karen Evans for Sunday, August 8, 2021.

August 1, 2021

Sermon by the Rev. Dr. Simon J. Mainwaring for Sunday, August 1, 2021.

What is your why?

Sermon by the Rev. Natosha Reid Rice for Sunday, July 11, 2021.

Welcome Home

Sermon by the Rev. Zachary C. Nyein for Sunday, July 4, 2021.

Divine Touch

Sermon text by the Rev. Dr. Simon J. Mainwaring for Sunday, June 27, 2021.

A Call to Grow Up

Sermon by the Rev. Natosha Reid Rice for Sunday, June 13, 2021.

God is in the struggle

Audio-only recording of the Rev. Dr. Andrew K. Barnett's sermon in Ellis Hall on...

The Holy Trinity

Audio-only recording of the Rev. Dr. Andrew K. Barnett's sermon in Ellis Hall on...

The School of Love

Sermon by the Rev. Dr. Simon J. Mainwaring for Sunday, May 30, 2021.

Think Again

Sermon by the Rev. Dr. Simon J. Mainwaring.

How are you being?

Sermon by the Rev. Natosha Reid Rice for Sunday, May 9, 2021.

Start Anyway

Sermon by the Rev. Andrew K. Barnett. "In Matthew’s Gospel, Jesus tells all the...

Reach

Sermon for Easter Sunday by the Rev. Dr. Simon J. Mainwaring

The Choice is Yours

Sermon by the Rev. Natosha Reid Rice for Sunday, March 21, 2021. “During this...

Remembered

Sermon by the Rev. Dr. Simon J. Mainwaring for Sunday, February 21, 2021. "In the end...

SIGN UP FOR E-NEWS

Enter your info below to receive our weekly e-news, and stay up to date on all our latest community news and events!